Zapstack

Cheapest Funnel Builder Comparison · Reviewed September 26, 2026

Cheapest Funnel Builder Comparison: What Systeme.io, GoHighLevel and Kit Really Cost in Your First 12 Months

Your first bill is not the one worth comparing. What matters is twelve months of running a one-person business on each platform — including the month your contact list crosses a plan limit and the upgrade lands on your card. Systeme.io, GoHighLevel and Kit (ConvertKit) sit side by side below in a criteria matrix, followed by the first-year cost of each, at list prices checked on 13 September 2026. Where a number was not visible on the vendor's own pricing page, it is marked as not verified rather than estimated. Start with your own list size, then read the numbers.

3 tools comparedOn-paper research No paid placementUpdated September 26, 2026
Abstract illustration of a complete sales funnel made of stacked layers
Illustration: Zapstack

At a glance

  1. Systeme.io — Pick this if you sell your own products, want the smallest first-year bill on th
  2. GoHighLevel — You run client accounts solo and your first-year maths is about billable work, n
  3. Kit (ConvertKit) — You write a newsletter and want a genuine zero-cost first year, up to 10,000 sub

Quick comparison

ToolBest for
Systeme.ioPick this if you sell your own products, want the smallest first-year bill on the page, and can stay inside 2,000 contacts while you validate.
GoHighLevelYou run client accounts solo and your first-year maths is about billable work, not about shaving the software bill.
Kit (ConvertKit)You write a newsletter and want a genuine zero-cost first year, up to 10,000 subscribers.

Pricing at a glance

Prices checked 13 September 2026. List prices come from each vendor's public pricing page on 13 September 2026, at the smallest plan a one-person business would realistically run. Where a vendor quotes an annual total, the 12-month column uses it; where it does not, the column is 12 × the monthly list price, flagged as such. Vendors change prices and limits without notice, so check the vendor's own page on the day you sign up.

ToolFree tierEntry priceNext step upSource
Systeme.iocheapest entryFree plan gives you up to 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 automation rule and 1 custom domainStartup $17/month (5,000 contacts, 10 funnels) — 12 months at list price = $204; annual pricing not verifiedWebinar $47/month (10,000 contacts); Unlimited $97/monthvendor page
GoHighLevelNo free tier at all — 14-day trial on any planStarter $97/month (3 sub-accounts, unlimited contacts) — $970 billed yearlyUnlimited $297/month; Agency Pro $497/month — annual pricing not verifiedvendor page
Kit (ConvertKit)Free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribersCreator $33/month at the 1,000-subscriber band — $390 billed yearlyPro $66/month — $790 billed yearly; larger-list bands not verifiedvendor page

What you spend on subscription in year one, paying from day one

Total paid over 12 months on each platform's cheapest plan (quotes where published, 12 × list price where flagged). Positions read off each vendor's pricing page, checked 13 September 2026. Systeme.io figures are arithmetic on monthly list prices, because no annual rate is published; Kit's Creator price holds at the 1,000-subscriber band and grows with list size. Find your list size on that band before you fix a budget.

$0$400$800$1,200+
Systeme.io (Startup)$204 (12 × $17)
Kit (Creator)$390 billed yearly
Systeme.io (Webinar)$564 (12 × $47)
GoHighLevel (Starter)$970 billed yearly

The price ladder, step by step

Where you start, what year one costs, and what pushes you to the next rung. Prices come from each vendor's pricing page, checked 13 September 2026; totals marked 'at list price' are 12 × the monthly figure, because no annual rate is published. Find your current rung, then look at the one above it.

Systeme.io

Free$02,000 contacts · 3 funnels · year 1 = $0
Startup$17/mo5,000 contacts · year 1 = $204 at list price
Webinar$47/mo10,000 contacts · year 1 = $564 at list price
Unlimited$97/moyear 1 = $1,164 at list price · annual rates not verified

GoHighLevel

Trial$014 days only — no free steady state
Starter$97/moyear 1 = $970 billed yearly · 3 sub-accounts
Unlimited$297/mounlimited sub-accounts · annual rate not verified
Agency Pro$497/moSaaS mode · annual rate not verified

Kit (ConvertKit)

Free$0up to 10,000 subscribers · year 1 = $0
Creator$33/mo$390 billed yearly · 1,000-subscriber band
Pro$66/mo$790 billed yearly · top self-serve tier

The matrix: what you pay, where the ceiling sits, and what breaks first

Cells come from each vendor's pricing page and GoHighLevel's help documentation, checked 13 September 2026. “Not verified” means the vendor does not state it there — not that the feature is missing. Read the row on bills beyond the subscription before the headline price.

Systeme.ioGoHighLevelKit (ConvertKit)
Free tier — year one at $0?Yes — 2,000 contacts, 3 funnelsNo — 14-day trial onlyYes — up to 10,000 subscribers
Cheapest paid plan$17/month (Startup)$97/month (Starter)$33/month (Creator, annual billing, 1,000-sub band)
12 months on that plan$204 (12 × list; annual rate not verified)$970 (quoted annual total)$390 (quoted annual total)
Meter that forces upgradesContacts + funnel/automation countFeatures, sub-accounts, usage — not contactsSubscriber band + feature gates
Contacts on the entry plan5,000UnlimitedUnlimited (priced at 1,000-sub band)
Bills beyond the subscriptionPayment processor onlyPhone/SMS/call minutes; AI $50–$97/mo per locationPayment processor + platform fees on product sales
Course / membership hosting includedYes — on paid plansYes — offers + membershipsDigital products; not a full LMS

Our picks

Low stepped platform with ascending blocks symbolizing an affordable entry-level plan ladder.

Pick 01

Systeme.io

Best for Pick this if you sell your own products, want the smallest first-year bill on the page, and can stay inside 2,000 contacts while you validate.

What it does wellHere is the number that matters: a full year on the entry plan costs less than two months of GoHighLevel. Twelve months at the $17/month Startup list price comes to $204, and the free plan — 2,000 contacts and 3 funnels — can carry a validated launch without a card on file. Email sending, checkout and course hosting all sit inside the subscription, so the funnel stack does not spawn extra line items. Before you upgrade, count your funnels and automations — that is what pushes you off the free plan.
What to watch out forThe upgrade trigger is structural, not just volume: you hit the ceiling the day you need a fourth funnel, because funnels and automation rules are capped per tier. Annual billing is not stated on the pricing page — treat $204 as 12 × the list price, not a quoted annual rate. Confirm it with the vendor before you budget.

Cost reality: free up to 2,000 contacts and 3 funnels; Startup $17/month (5,000 contacts), Webinar $47/month (10,000), Unlimited $97/month — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026; annual pricing not verified.

Check Systeme.io →

Link goes to Systeme.io's own pricing page — we do not have an affiliate link for this one.

Elevated slab with orbiting ledges representing one hub managing many client accounts.

Pick 02

GoHighLevel

Best for You run client accounts solo and your first-year maths is about billable work, not about shaving the software bill.

What it does wellCount what the subscription replaces and the comparison flips: CRM, pipelines, appointment booking, SMS and voice all live in one account, and the Starter plan is billed $970 per year with unlimited contacts, so list growth never moves the price. For someone reselling those tools to clients, a single retained account can cover the year. That is the only honest case for the highest entry price in this group. Add up what your client work would cost in separate tools before you dismiss it.
What to watch out forThere is no free tier — the trial is 14 days and then the meter runs. Usage-based extras (phone numbers, SMS, call minutes) are billed separately, and the AI add-ons are priced per enabled location ($50–$97/month according to the vendor's help docs). Annual pricing for the $297 and $497 tiers was not verified. Get those rates in writing before you commit.

Cost reality: no free tier; 14-day trial, then Starter $97/month billed $970/year, Unlimited $297/month, Agency Pro $497/month — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026.

Check GoHighLevel →

Link goes to GoHighLevel's own pricing page — we do not have an affiliate link for this one.

Broad open basin below a short rise symbolizing a generous free tier before paid steps.

Pick 03

Kit (ConvertKit)

Best for You write a newsletter and want a genuine zero-cost first year, up to 10,000 subscribers.

What it does wellThis is the widest open door in the comparison: up to 10,000 subscribers with core email tools costs nothing, so a first year can legitimately be $0 in software. If you do pay, the Creator plan is quoted at $33/month with $390 billed yearly (at the 1,000-subscriber band), and Pro at $66/month with $790 billed yearly. Because both prices are annual-billing figures, the year-one cost is known in advance instead of being twelve separate charges. Check which subscriber band you are actually in before you pick a plan.
What to watch out forFunnels and checkouts are secondary here — this is an email-first platform, and digital product sales carry platform fees on top of payment processing (the pricing page shows 3.5% + 30¢ and 23.5% figures whose exact plan mapping was not verified). Prices above reflect a 1,000-subscriber list; tiers beyond that were not verified. Ask support which fee applies to your plan before you sell.

Cost reality: free up to 10,000 subscribers; Creator $33/month ($390 billed yearly) and Pro $66/month ($790 billed yearly) at the 1,000-subscriber band — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026.

The matrix: three ways to read it

A comparison table only helps if you know which row decides your case. For a one-person business, three rows carry almost all of the weight. First, the free tier, because it decides whether your validation year costs anything at all — Kit allows up to 10,000 subscribers, Systeme.io allows 2,000 contacts and 3 funnels, and GoHighLevel allows nothing beyond a 14-day trial. Second, the upgrade trigger, which is where 'cheap' plans stop being cheap: Systeme.io metered by contacts and funnel count, Kit metered by subscriber band and features, GoHighLevel metered almost entirely by which tools you need rather than list size. Third, usage-based extras, because a subscription is not the whole invoice — phone, SMS and AI add-ons on GoHighLevel, and platform fees on Kit product sales, both change the ranking depending on how you earn. Find the row that moves first for you and read it before the rest of the table.

Everything below the fold in the matrix — course hosting, automation depth, email sending — is roughly table stakes across all three. Decide on the rows that meter your growth, not on the rows where every vendor can write 'yes'. Circle those rows now.

First-year cost, scenario by scenario

Your twelve-month bill depends less on the platform than on the path you take through it. Three scenarios cover most one-person businesses:

Scenario A — validate on free for a full year. Systeme.io: $0 if you stay under 2,000 contacts and never need a fourth funnel. Kit: $0 up to 10,000 subscribers, which is a genuinely large runway. GoHighLevel: not available. This is where 'cheapest funnel builder' is really decided, and Kit's free band is the most generous door in the group. Count your current contacts and funnels before you assume free will hold.

Scenario B — one paid plan, held for twelve months. Systeme.io Startup: 12 × $17 = $204 at list price (no published annual discount — annual pricing not verified). Kit Creator: $390 billed yearly at the 1,000-subscriber band. GoHighLevel Starter: $970 billed yearly, flat regardless of list size. The ranking is the same in every version of this scenario; only the gaps change. If you know you will stay on the plan, pick the one whose yearly total you can pay without borrowing.

Scenario C — growth forces an upgrade mid-year. Add the next rung from month seven onward and the totals become Systeme.io $17×6 + $47×6 ≈ $384 (if you cross 5,000 contacts), Kit +$33/month toward Pro if feature needs move you there ($390 rising toward $790), GoHighLevel unchanged at the contact level but rising with sub-accounts or AI locations. Unlimited contacts is worth real money only when your list would otherwise cross a metered band — below that line, it is a feature you are paying for and not using. Work out which rung you will hit and when, then price that month into the budget.

What sits behind each paywall

Upgrade pressure differs because each vendor walls off different things. On Systeme.io the walls are structural: funnel count (3 free, 10 on Startup), automation rules (1 free, 10 on Startup) and contacts (2,000 / 5,000 / 10,000 per band). Predictable, and you can plan around them — but a second product line, or a welcome sequence plus an abandoned-cart sequence, can push you up a rung even with a small list.

On GoHighLevel the subscription barely walls off anything a solo operator needs — unlimited contacts and core CRM features ship on Starter — but usage billing lives outside it. Phone numbers, SMS and call minutes are billed as consumed, and the AI stack is priced per enabled location ($50 or $97/month depending on tier, with Agent Studio pay-per-use on every plan, according to the vendor's help documentation). The paywall here is a meter, not a menu.

On Kit the free plan keeps sending but gates growth machinery: subject-line A/B testing allows 2 variants on Free and Creator versus 5 on Pro, seats go 1 / 2 / unlimited across the ladder, and digital product sales carry platform fees (the pricing page shows 3.5% + 30¢ and 23.5% figures; how they map to plans was not verifiable from the page text). If monetization is your main event, read that row before the feature grid. Ask Kit support to confirm which fee applies to your plan.

Where this comparison breaks down — and what to check yourself

No matrix captures the costs that decide real budgets. Payment processing is the biggest: whichever platform you pick, Stripe or PayPal still take their percentage, and none of these subscriptions include it. Deliverability is second: a cheap plan that can email 10,000 contacts is not the same as one whose emails reach inboxes, and list quality, not plan tier, drives that. Migration is third: every platform here exports a CSV, but tags, automation history and page builds do not travel — the true cost of choosing wrong is a rebuild weekend plus a month of double billing. Never assume a CSV export means you can leave easily.

Three numbers in this comparison are marked not verified and should be confirmed with the vendors before you rely on them: Systeme.io's annual billing rate (none published on its pricing page on 13 September 2026), GoHighLevel's annual rates on the $297 and $497 tiers, and Kit's price bands above 1,000 subscribers. Where a competitor article states these figures as fact without a date, treat it as a guess with better formatting than yours. If a number matters to your budget, email the vendor and ask for it in writing this week.

Pick your branch: which platform actually fits you

You sell your own products and want the smallest paid first year on the page

→ Systeme.io

$204 for twelve months on Startup at list price; free plan carries validation to 2,000 contacts. Stay free until you hit it.

Your asset is a large email list and your software budget is genuinely zero

→ Kit (ConvertKit)

free to 10,000 subscribers; if you must pay, $390/year on Creator is a known, pre-billed figure. Test the free band first.

Software is a cost of goods for you — you run client accounts or need phone and SMS in the tool

→ GoHighLevel

$970/year on Starter plus usage billing; no free tier, so year one is paid from day 15. Price usage first.

How to choose

  1. Turn your budget into one number, not a monthly rate: $204 (Systeme.io Startup at list price) versus $390 (Kit Creator, billed yearly) versus $970 (GoHighLevel Starter, billed yearly) are the three realistic floors. Decide now which of the three you would sign for today.
  2. Find your upgrade trigger before you choose. Systeme.io caps funnels and contacts per tier, Kit's meter is subscriber count, GoHighLevel's meter is which features and how many sub-accounts you need. Before you compare features, write down what would push you to the next rung.
  3. Count the bills the platform absorbs. If you would otherwise pay separately for email marketing, a checkout, a scheduler and an SMS tool, GoHighLevel's $970 year can be the cheaper total. Add those separate bills up — that total is what you are really comparing.
  4. Can day one be free? Kit covers 10,000 subscribers on $0 and Systeme.io covers 2,000 contacts and 3 funnels; GoHighLevel has no equivalent — plan for twelve months of billing from day 15. The next step is to run your real list through the free tier.
  5. Treat unverified numbers as red flags in either direction. Annual discounts, fees and higher subscriber bands that a pricing page does not state should be confirmed with the vendor before they enter your budget — so email them and ask.

FAQ

What does each platform cost over the first twelve months?

On the cheapest paid plan from day one: GoHighLevel Starter is $970 billed yearly. Kit Creator is $390 billed yearly at the 1,000-subscriber band, and $0 for the year if you stay on the free plan at 10,000 subscribers or fewer. Systeme.io Startup is $17/month, so twelve months at list price is $204 — but an official annual rate is not stated on its pricing page, so treat that as arithmetic on the monthly price, not a quoted discount. Write all three into your budget as yearly totals, not monthly ones.

Can I honestly run a full year without paying anything?

Two of the three, yes. Kit's free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers, and Systeme.io's covers 2,000 contacts with 3 funnels and 1 automation rule — enough for one offer live at a time. The constraint is structural, not just volume: the fourth funnel or the second automation on Systeme.io ends the free year. GoHighLevel cannot be a zero-cost year; the 14-day trial is the only free window. If you are close to either ceiling, move up a plan before the limit stops you mid-launch.

Does Kit's price grow with my list?

The pricing page quotes Creator at $33/month ($390 billed yearly) and Pro at $66/month ($790 billed yearly) for a 1,000-subscriber list, and the comparison matrix lists unlimited subscribers on both paid plans. Prices for larger lists were not verified on the page when checked on 13 September 2026. So confirm the band that matches your list size before you budget year two.

Beyond the subscription, what still costs money?

Three things apply across the group. Payment processing comes first — Stripe or PayPal rates, which none of the platforms pay for you. On GoHighLevel there are usage-billed channels: phone numbers, SMS and call minutes, plus AI add-ons priced per enabled location at $50–$97/month, with Agent Studio remaining pay-per-use on every plan. On Kit, digital product sales carry a platform fee in addition to processor fees. Systeme.io's paid tiers mainly cost you in plan upgrades, not add-ons; connecting a Shopify store, for example, runs through Zapier or Make rather than a native app. Before you compare subscriptions, price your processor fees and usage for a normal month.

Is paying annually ever the wrong call?

Yes, while you are still validating the offer — a year commitment turns an experiment into a sunk cost. Kit's quoted prices are already annual-billing figures, so that trade is built in; GoHighLevel's $970/year Starter rate is a twelve-month commitment by design. Systeme.io's monthly billing lets you cancel the month the funnel stops converting, and that is worth more than any unverified annual discount. Stay monthly until the funnel has paid for itself once.

Bottom line

On first-12-months cost the ranking is plain: Kit if you can stay free (up to 10,000 subscribers is a real year for most audience businesses), then Systeme.io paid ($204 for twelve months on Startup at list price, the cheapest paid year here), then Kit paid ($390/year on Creator), then GoHighLevel ($970/year on Starter, the only platform where no free year exists). GoHighLevel wins a different contest — if a single client account pays for the tool — but that is a revenue argument, not a cheapness one. All prices checked 13 September 2026 on the vendors' own pages, and the unverified items flagged above can move these positions. So: start on the free plan that matches your list, and only move up the month the limit actually stops you.

How we research

This guide compares the options on paper — documentation, feature lists and public pricing tiers. We have not used every tool hands-on, and we do not accept payment for placement. Full methodology.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. More on how we make money.