Zapstack

Flodesk Vs Convertkit Pricing · Reviewed September 26, 2026

Flodesk vs Kit (ConvertKit) Pricing: What Each Plan Actually Unlocks

You are looking at two pricing pages that both seem affordable, and they are selling you different things. Flodesk's cheapest paid plan is the lowest entry price in this pair, yet its free plan cannot send a single email. Kit's free plan sends to up to 10,000 subscribers, while its headline monthly numbers only apply if you pay yearly. We read both vendors' public pricing pages side by side so you can see which wall you are actually paying to get past. Open both pricing pages side by side as you read.

2 tools comparedOn-paper research No paid placementUpdated September 26, 2026
Abstract illustration of a complete sales funnel made of stacked layers
Illustration: Zapstack

At a glance

  1. Flodesk — You are a design-conscious solopreneur or small shop owner with a list near 1,00
  2. Kit (ConvertKit) — You write a newsletter, you are building an audience, and you need a free plan t

Quick comparison

ToolBest for
FlodeskYou are a design-conscious solopreneur or small shop owner with a list near 1,000 subscribers, you want unlimited email sends on every paid plan, and you are happy to pay annually for the lower rate.
Kit (ConvertKit)You write a newsletter, you are building an audience, and you need a free plan that can actually send email to a large list. That is Kit's whole pitch.

Pricing at a glance

Prices checked 13 September 2026. Every figure comes off each vendor's public pricing page on 13 September 2026, at the 1,000-subscriber mark. Kit's monthly numbers assume annual billing ($390/$790 per year); Flodesk prints monthly and annual side by side. Prices and limits move without notice, so confirm the numbers on the vendor's own page at signup.

ToolFree tierEntry priceNext step upSource
Flodeskcheapest entry$0 — forms, landing pages and link-in-bio only; NO email sending, NO workflows. Do not pick it expecting to send.Lite at $25/month for 1,000 subscribers, or $19/month billed annually — the cheaper cheque of the two.Step up to Pro at $28/month ($25 annually), or Everything at $54/month ($49 annually), both at 1,000 subscribers.vendor page
Kit (ConvertKit)$0 and it actually sends: up to 10,000 subscribers, email sending included.Creator at $33/month, billed $390/year — monthly billing lands near $39.Pro at $66/month, billed $790/year — monthly billing lands near $79.vendor page

How far the cheapest plan that can send actually gets you

Subscribers covered on the cheapest plan that can actually send email. Positions are read off plan limits on each vendor's pricing page (checked 13 September 2026). Flodesk's free plan lists 'No limit' subscribers but is excluded here because it cannot send — a plan that cannot email has no sending room. The scale is a ladder, not a precise ratio. Read it as 'how far can I go before the next bill'.

1,00010,00025,000unlimited
Flodesk (Lite @ $19–25/mo)priced at the 1,000 band · caps at 25,000
Kit (Free @ $0)up to 10,000 subscribers, sends included
Kit (Creator @ $33/mo)'Unlimited' cap per table · price bands beyond 1,000 not verified

The price ladder, step by step

Entry points for a one-person business, in the order you would hit them. Flodesk ranges show annual then monthly billing; Kit figures assume annual billing. Prices come from each vendor's pricing page, checked 13 September 2026. Read them top to bottom.

Flodesk

Free$0no email sending · no workflows
Lite$19–25/moat 1,000 subs · 1 workflow · 1 seat
Pro$25–28/mounlimited workflows · 2 seats
Everything$49–54/mocheckouts + funnels · 3 seats

Kit (ConvertKit)

Free$0up to 10,000 subscribers
Creator$33/mo$390/yr · 1,000-sub mark
Pro$66/mo$790/yr · 5 subject lines

Side by side: the seven calls that decide your price

Every cell comes from each vendor's public pricing page, checked 13 September 2026. 'Not verified' means the vendor does not state it legibly on that page — not that the feature is missing. Check the source page yourself before you treat a blank as a gap.

FlodeskKit (ConvertKit)
Email sending on the free planNo — forms and landing pages onlyYes — free up to 10,000 subscribers
Cheapest plan that sends email (1,000 subs)$19/mo annual ($25/mo monthly) — Lite$33/mo annual ($390/yr) — Creator
Automations on the entry paid plan1 workflow (Lite 'limited time bonus'); unlimited at ProNot verified (row values not legible on page)
Seats included on entry paid plan1 (Lite); 2 (Pro)2 (Creator)
Subscriber cap on paid plansLite caps at 25,000; Pro/Everything to 255,000'Unlimited' per comparison table
Price at 10,000 subscribers$66/mo annual ($72 monthly) on LiteNot verified (slider bands not shown)
Free trial of paid featuresYes — no credit card requiredNot verified on kit.com/pricing

Our picks

Abstract illustration of one key facing a row of locked panels, symbolizing plan-by-plan feature gates.

Pick 01

Flodesk

Best for You are a design-conscious solopreneur or small shop owner with a list near 1,000 subscribers, you want unlimited email sends on every paid plan, and you are happy to pay annually for the lower rate.

What it does wellFlodesk bundles landing pages, forms and email into one editor and prices purely by active subscriber band — unsubscribed and bounced contacts do not count. Every paid plan includes unlimited email sends, and the entry plan (Lite) is the lower sticker price of this pair: $25/month, or $19/month on annual billing, for 1,000 subscribers. Deeper tiers unlock capability rather than volume. Pro adds unlimited workflows and a second seat; Everything adds checkouts, sales funnels and abandoned-cart automations. Test one landing page on the free plan first.
What to watch out forThe Free plan cannot send email and has no workflow automations at all — it is forms and landing pages only. Lite caps at 25,000 subscribers and includes one seat, with workflows limited to a single 'limited time bonus' workflow, so a welcome sequence plus one sale sequence already pushes you toward Pro. Map the automations you want before you commit to Lite.

Cost reality: Free plan: $0 but no email sending. Paid plans at the 1,000-subscriber mark: Lite $25/month (or $19/month billed annually), Pro $28/month (or $25/month annually), Everything $54/month (or $49/month annually) — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026.

Abstract illustration of an open gate followed by rising gates along a path, symbolizing a generous free tier before paid tiers.

Pick 02

Kit (ConvertKit)

Best for You write a newsletter, you are building an audience, and you need a free plan that can actually send email to a large list. That is Kit's whole pitch.

What it does wellKit's structural difference is where its generosity sits: the free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers and includes email sending, so you can run a real newsletter before paying anything. Paid tiers then scale capability — Creator adds a second seat, Pro raises subject-line testing from 2 variants to 5, and the comparison table lists team seats as 1, 2 and unlimited across Free, Creator and Pro. Support also steps up from email-only to 24/7 chat and finally 24/7 priority on Pro. Open a free Kit account and send one real newsletter from it.
What to watch out forThe $33/month Creator and $66/month Pro figures are annual-billing prices ($390 and $790 billed yearly at the 1,000-subscriber mark). Billing monthly costs more — the page's own savings maths implies roughly $39 and $79. Prices for lists beyond 1,000 subscribers were not readable in the page's default view, and the monetization-fee rows do not map cleanly to named plans. If you expect to pass 1,000 subscribers, get the bigger bands quoted directly.

Cost reality: Free up to 10,000 subscribers; Creator $33/month billed yearly ($390/year) and Pro $66/month billed yearly ($790/year) at 1,000 subscribers — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026.

Two different paywalls: what each vendor actually gates

'Behind the paywall' means something different on each of these pages, and that difference decides most purchases. Flodesk gates capability. Its free plan lists active subscribers with 'No limit' — yet the FAQ states plainly that it does not include email sending or workflow automations. You can grow an unlimited list on paper and still not be allowed to email it. Sending only starts at Lite, and even there the automation is throttled: the plan card shows one seat and a single workflow marked as a 'limited time bonus'. Unlimited workflows arrive at Pro, and integrated checkouts, sales funnels, subscription payment plans and abandoned-cart automations only show up at Everything.

Kit gates at a different altitude. Email sending is available on the free plan up to 10,000 subscribers, so the wall you hit first is volume-dependent pricing, not basic function. The paid comparison moves team seats (1 on Free, 2 on Creator, unlimited on Pro), subject-line testing (2, 2 and 5 variants across the three plans) and support tier (email, then 24/7 chat, then 24/7 priority). The automations row exists on the page but its per-plan split was not legible in the text capture, so we have left those cells marked 'Not verified' rather than guess.

The practical consequence: if you are validating whether people open your emails at all, Kit's free tier is the honest starting line. If you already know you need a small, polished send with landing pages and you are ready to pay, Flodesk's entry tier is the smaller cheque. Open both free plans and send one real email from each.

The billing-cycle trick: sticker price versus money leaving your bank

The most common pricing-page mistake in this category is reading Kit's headline number as a monthly bill. The card at the 1,000-subscriber mark shows 'Creator $33/mo — $390 billed yearly — Save $78 per year'. Do the arithmetic: $33 x 12 = $396, which is $78 more than $390 spread over twelve months. The 'saving' only exists because the default toggle is annual billing, and paying month-to-month works out near $39. Pro follows the same shape: $66/month with $790 billed yearly and 'Save $158 per year' implies a monthly-billed rate around $79.

Flodesk removes the guesswork by printing both figures: Lite is '$25/month (or $19/month with annual billing)' at 1,000 subscribers, and the FAQ even shows the maths for Pro ($28 versus $25 annually, saving $33 over the year). Annual billing there equals one free month. The lesson transfers to any tool comparison: normalise everything to 'total dollars per year, my cycle' before you call anything cheap.

One asymmetry worth naming: annual-billed Kit Creator at a 1,000-subscriber list is $390/year; Flodesk Pro on annual billing at the same size is $300/year ($25 x 12) and Lite is $228. If you commit to a year up front, Flodesk's capability-per-dollar is stronger on paper; if you refuse to prepay, the gap shrinks. Work out your own yearly total on both pages before you choose.

How each bill grows as your list grows

Both tools price by subscriber count, but only one publishes the whole ladder. Flodesk's slider shows every band: Lite runs $32/$29 at 2,500 subscribers, $52/$48 at 5,000 and $72/$66 at 10,000 (monthly/annual), and the plan tops out at 25,000 subscribers. Past that you must move to Pro, which spans up to 255,000 subscribers with per-band pricing ($79/$72 per month at 10,000). The billing model counts active subscribers only, and exceeding your band triggers an automatic upgrade at your next billing date.

Kit's public page, in its default view, shows the 1,000-subscriber cards. The deeper slider bands were not accessible to our capture, so any 5,000- or 10,000-subscriber Kit price you see quoted on blogs is not something we could confirm at kit.com/pricing on 13 September 2026 — the comparison table above marks those cells 'Not verified'. What the table does state is that Creator and Pro carry no subscriber cap in the 'Grow your audience' row. A cap statement is not a price statement: the dollar figures still step with subscriber bands.

So the growth story differs by certainty: with Flodesk you can read your future bill off the page before you sign up, while with Kit you verify the big-list pricing yourself, at the size you actually expect to be at within a year. The next step is to drag both sliders to your expected list size and note the numbers.

When neither tool is the right buy

A pricing comparison is only honest if it names the cases where the category itself is the wrong buy:

Which one fits you — three straight answers

You are still testing whether anyone wants your emails and you have no budget yet

→ Kit (ConvertKit)

Kit's free plan sends to up to 10,000 subscribers; Flodesk's free plan cannot send email at all. Send one newsletter on Kit's free tier first.

Your list sits near 1,000, you will pay annually, and you want unlimited sends on the cheapest plan

→ Flodesk

Lite is $19/month on annual billing at 1,000 subscribers versus Kit Creator's $33/month ($390/year). Work the same sum out at your own list size.

You want to try the full feature set before any money moves

→ Flodesk

a free trial of paid features with no credit card, after which you pick a plan or drop to Free; Kit's trial terms are not stated on its pricing page. Take the trial and build one real email inside it.

How to choose

  1. Decide what your free plan must do. If 'free' must include sending a newsletter, Kit covers up to 10,000 subscribers; Flodesk's free plan builds forms and landing pages but sends no email. Write that job down before you sign up.
  2. Normalise the billing cycle before comparing numbers. Kit's $33 and $66 assume you pay yearly; monthly billing runs roughly $39 and $79 by the page's own savings arithmetic. Flodesk prints both numbers side by side. Add up a full year on each option, then decide.
  3. Price your list size, not the sticker. Flodesk steps by active-subscriber band (Lite tops out at 25,000); Kit's public page only shows the 1,000-subscriber cards, so bigger lists need a quote from the vendor's slider. Move that slider to the size you expect in a year.
  4. Check what sits behind the wall you are about to buy. Workflows: 1 on Flodesk Lite, unlimited on Pro. Seats: 1 vs 2 on the two entry paid plans. Checkout: Flodesk gates it in its top tier. Before you pay, tick off your own needs against each plan.
  5. Plan the exit. Both charge as your list grows — Flodesk auto-upgrades you to the next band at your next billing date — so read the upgrade rule before, not after, launch day. Find that rule on both pages while you are still deciding.

FAQ

Is Flodesk's free plan really usable if it cannot send email?

Only for collecting, not communicating. The vendor's pricing page states the free plan lets you build forms, landing pages and link-in-bio pages with no active-subscriber limit, but does not include email sending or workflow automations. Flodesk also offers a free trial of the paid features with no credit card; when it ends you pick a paid plan or are moved onto the free plan automatically. If you need to email anyone at all, skip straight to the trial of Lite.

Is Kit $33/month or $39/month — which number is real?

Both, depending on billing cycle. The Creator card shows $33/month with $390 billed yearly and a 'Save $78 per year' note at the 1,000-subscriber mark. That saving only works out if the monthly-billed rate is about $39, so treat $33 as the annual-billing price and budget $39 if you pay month to month. The same pattern applies to Pro at $66 versus roughly $79. Set both vendors' toggles to the same cycle before you compare anything.

Which tool is cheaper at 1,000 subscribers?

On list price, Flodesk: Lite is $19/month on annual billing (or $25 monthly) against Kit Creator at $33/month annual (or about $39 monthly) — checked 13 September 2026. The honest caveat: 'cheaper' assumes Lite's package fits you — unlimited sends but only one workflow and one seat. If you need two people or several automations, Flodesk Pro at $25-28/month is the real comparison point, and the gap narrows. Count your seats and workflows, then price that plan.

Did Flodesk really kill its old flat-rate unlimited plan?

For new members, yes. The pricing page's FAQ says the original flat-rate unlimited plan was retired for new members on December 2, 2025, and that anyone who subscribed before that date keeps the legacy plan. If you see 'Flodesk unlimited for one price' quoted in older articles, that offer is no longer open to new signups. If an old article sold you on it, check the vendor's own page before you budget.

Does Kit charge a fee when I sell through it?

The comparison table on Kit's pricing page shows monetary values including 3.5% + 30c and 23.5% in the monetization rows, but the published text we could read did not clearly map each figure to a named plan, so we have not asserted one in the table above. The next step is to read that mapping yourself on kit.com/pricing.

Bottom line

At a 1,000-subscriber list, Flodesk has the cheaper sticker: Lite is $19/month on annual billing ($25 monthly) against Kit Creator at $33/month annual ($390/year) — figures checked 13 September 2026. But the two paywalls are different shapes, and what matters is which wall you are hitting. Kit's free plan sends email to up to 10,000 subscribers; Flodesk's free plan sends nothing, so 'free' is only free on one of these pages. Kit's monthly numbers assume annual prepayment; Flodesk prints both cycles. Set both pages to the cycle you will actually pay on, then pick the plan that covers your list size and the features you need.

How we research

This guide compares the options on paper — documentation, feature lists and public pricing tiers. We have not used every tool hands-on, and we do not accept payment for placement. Full methodology.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. More on how we make money.