Zapstack

Top Ai Tools For Small Businesses · Reviewed September 26, 2026

AI in the Platforms You Already Pay For: Systeme.io vs Kit (ConvertKit) vs GoHighLevel

You are already paying for AI. You just may not know what it does. Three platforms solopreneurs already subscribe to — Systeme.io, Kit (ConvertKit) and GoHighLevel — all ship AI inside the subscription, and this page checks only what the vendors' own help docs and pricing pages say, as of 13 September 2026. It is deliberately not another 'top AI tools' list. The claim is smaller and more useful: two of these platforms let AI draft pages and emails, or run your account from ChatGPT or Claude, with no separate AI fee published. The third is the only one whose AI answers your customers' texts and phone calls — and it charges extra per location per month for that, with hard quotas on the cheaper track. Below is what each AI actually does, where the meter runs, and what still lands on your desk.

3 tools comparedOn-paper research No paid placementUpdated September 26, 2026
Abstract illustration of a complete sales funnel made of stacked layers
Illustration: Zapstack

At a glance

  1. Systeme.io — You sell solo and want AI to build and run the funnel you already have on the sm
  2. Kit (ConvertKit) — You run a newsletter and want AI for the writing and sending side — subject line
  3. GoHighLevel — You run a local-service business or a one-person agency, you need AI that answer

Quick comparison

ToolBest for
Systeme.ioYou sell solo and want AI to build and run the funnel you already have on the smallest budget — and you refuse to take on a second AI bill.
Kit (ConvertKit)You run a newsletter and want AI for the writing and sending side — subject lines, broadcasts — not for answering customers.
GoHighLevelYou run a local-service business or a one-person agency, you need AI that answers customers — texts, chats, reviews, calls — and you can live with the add-on math.

Pricing at a glance

Prices checked 13 September 2026. Base plan prices come from each vendor's public pricing page, checked 13 September 2026. With GoHighLevel, remember AI Employee is a separate per-location charge on top of the base plan — see the AI add-on note below the table. Vendors change prices and limits without notice, so re-read the page before you buy.

ToolFree tierEntry priceNext step upSource
Systeme.iocheapest entryFree tier: up to 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 automation rule, 1 custom domain$17/month — Startup, 5,000 contacts, 10 funnels$47/month for Webinar at 10,000 contacts and 50 funnels; $97/month for Unlimitedvendor page
Kit (ConvertKit)Free tier: up to 10,000 subscribers; the AI subject line generator is limited to 5 uses$33/month (Creator, $390 billed yearly)$66/month (Pro, $790 billed yearly)vendor page
GoHighLevelNo free tier — a 14-day trial on any plan; no AI included in the base price$97/month (Starter: 3 sub-accounts, billed $970/year)$297/month (Unlimited); $497/month (Agency Pro); AI Employee adds $50–$97/mo per locationvendor page

How much AI you really get on each plan

Documented monthly AI allowance at each tool's entry tier for that capability. Positions reflect only the numbers each vendor publishes (checked 13 September 2026). 'No cap published' is not the same as unlimited. GoHighLevel positions cover the AI Employee add-on, priced per enabled location on top of the base plan.

5 uses1,000 / monthunlimited (fair use)
Kit (Free)5 AI subject-line generations, then gated
Kit (paid plans)unlimited subject lines + MCP — email writing only, no message answering
Systeme.io (all plans)AI Chat + MCP actions — no numeric cap published
GoHighLevel (AI Employee Growth, +$50/mo/loc)1,000 Conversation AI responses + 100 Voice AI minutes per month; overage at token rates
GoHighLevel (AI Employee Unlimited, +$97/mo/loc)unlimited Conversation AI + Voice AI + Content AI, subject to fair use; Agent Studio still metered

The price ladder, step by step

Entry points for a one-person business, in the order you would hit them. Prices come from each vendor's pricing and AI pricing pages, checked 13 September 2026. GoHighLevel's AI rungs sit on top of the Starter plan.

Systeme.io

Free$02,000 contacts · AI Chat gating unstated
Startup$17/mo5,000 contacts · no AI surcharge
Webinar$47/mo10,000 contacts
Unlimited$97/mounlimited contacts

Kit (ConvertKit)

Free$010,000 subscribers · 5 AI subject-line uses
Creator$33/mo$390/yr · unlimited AI subject lines · MCP unlocks
Pro$66/mo$790/yr · top self-serve tier

GoHighLevel

Trial$014 days only
Starter$97/mo$970/yr · 3 sub-accounts · no AI suite
+ AI Growth$50/mo/location1,000 responses + 100 voice min
+ AI Unlimited$97/mo/locationunlimited, fair use

What each platform's AI actually does — side by side

Every cell comes from a vendor's own help docs, AI pricing page or pricing page, checked 13 September 2026. “Not verified” means we found no vendor statement — it does not mean the feature is missing.

Systeme.ioKit (ConvertKit)GoHighLevel
Prompt-to-page / funnel buildingIn-dashboard AI Chat builds pages and funnels and manages contacts, tags, newsletters, digital products, automation rules — plan gating not stated (help article 404 at check)No native prompt-to-page builder documented; Kit MCP can build landing pages on paid plansFunnel & Website AI — build and edit funnels/websites from prompts; 1,000 prompts/day per location, free, on all three AI tracks
AI email writing helpAI Chat generates content for newsletters and pagesSubject line generator: 5 suggestions per broadcast, refresh + A/B test; unlimited on paid plans, 5 uses on Free; broadcasts only, not SequencesContent AI: emails, social, web copy + images — unlimited on Growth/Unlimited; pay-per-use at $0.063/image, $0.0945/1,000 words
AI answers customer messages (SMS / chat / social)Not verifiedNot verifiedConversation AI — SMS, live chat, Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp; 1,000 responses/mo on Growth, unlimited (fair use) on Unlimited, token cost on pay-per-use
AI answers phone callsNot verifiedNot verifiedVoice AI — inbound, outbound and widget calls; 100 minutes/mo on Growth, unlimited (fair use) on Unlimited; phone-system charges separate
Bring your own AI (MCP: ChatGPT / Claude)Yes — MCP server + one-click ChatGPT app connection; described actions 'available on all systeme.io plans'Yes — Kit MCP on all paid plans (Creator, Creator Pro); Free plan connects but is blocked by an upgrade promptNot verified
Custom AI agents you configureNot verifiedAI-powered apps in the 60+ app App Store; custom Kit apps via AI with Developer Docs — no visual agent builder; plan gating undocumentedAgent Studio visual builder — pay-per-use token cost on every plan, 'not included in any subscription plan'
Extra monthly charge to unlock AINone documented — plan gating only, and free-plan AI Chat access is unconfirmedNone documented — plan gating only (Free = 5 subject-line uses; MCP needs any paid plan)Yes — AI Employee $50/mo (Growth) or $97/mo (Unlimited) per enabled location on top of the base plan, or token pay-per-use

Our picks

Abstract monolith with embedded glowing nodes, symbolizing AI built into a single all-in-one platform.

Pick 01

Systeme.io

Best for You sell solo and want AI to build and run the funnel you already have on the smallest budget — and you refuse to take on a second AI bill.

What it does wellYou get two AI surfaces here. An in-dashboard AI Chat takes natural-language commands to build pages, generate content, and manage contacts, tags, funnels, newsletters, digital products and automation rules — its help article says it needs 'no extra setup, API keys, or external tools like ChatGPT'. A systeme.io MCP server then lets ChatGPT or Claude do the same job from outside: the vendor documents managing contacts, tags, newsletters, campaigns, funnels, digital products, price plans, coupons and automation rules via AI chat, with the described actions 'available on all systeme.io plans'. There is even a one-click ChatGPT app connection. Open the AI Chat on the free plan and hand it one real funnel task before you pay for anything.
What to watch out forNo AI here answers a customer message at all — this is drafting and account-operation AI, not a support agent. Plan gating for the AI Chat is not stated on the pricing page, and the AI Chat help article could not be reloaded when checked on 13 September 2026. The vendor's own free AI prompt generator page calls a native AI page builder 'in the works' — roadmap language, not a shipped feature, and no date is promised for it.

Cost reality: free up to 2,000 contacts; the first paid tier is $17/month (Startup), and $47/month (Webinar) covers up to 10,000 contacts — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026. No separate AI charge is documented.

Check Systeme.io →

Link goes to Systeme.io's own pricing page — we do not have an affiliate link for this one.

Abstract ribbon and orbs motif representing AI-assisted email writing connected to subscriber workflows.

Pick 02

Kit (ConvertKit)

Best for You run a newsletter and want AI for the writing and sending side — subject lines, broadcasts — not for answering customers.

What it does wellThe AI subject line generator reads your broadcast content and returns five subject-line suggestions built for open rates, with refresh and A/B testing of the AI's own output. Unlimited on paid plans, capped at 5 uses on the free plan. Kit MCP then connects Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP-compatible assistants to your account with read and write access: analyze performance, tag subscribers, draft and schedule broadcasts, build landing pages. The vendor's own AI hub pitches that posture — 'Kit connects AI to your emails, apps, and workflows—on your terms, not ours.' Try the generator on a live broadcast, then A/B test the winner before you judge it.
What to watch out forThe subject line generator covers broadcasts only, not sequences. No documented AI answers subscriber messages. A free plan can connect the MCP, but the tool runs into an upgrade prompt — so AI that takes actions effectively starts at the first paid tier. Kit's App Store lists 60+ apps including AI-powered tools for writing, design and automation, and per-app plan gating is not documented.

Cost reality: free up to 10,000 subscribers; paid tiers start at $33/month (Creator) and $66/month (Pro) for a 1,000-subscriber list — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026. Kit MCP requires a paid plan; no separate AI fee is published on top of the subscription.

Abstract hub with branching arms and a meter arc, symbolizing AI agents answering across many channels with usage limits.

Pick 03

GoHighLevel

Best for You run a local-service business or a one-person agency, you need AI that answers customers — texts, chats, reviews, calls — and you can live with the add-on math.

What it does wellThis is by far the widest documented AI surface of the three. Conversation AI manages conversations across SMS, live chat, Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp. Voice AI is an 'AI receptionist that answers calls, qualifies leads, and books appointments around the clock.' Content AI writes emails, social posts and web copy and generates images; Reviews AI auto-responds to reviews; Funnel & Website AI builds and edits funnels and websites from prompts at 1,000 prompts per day per location on every track; and Agent Studio is a visual builder for custom agents. The first five sit inside the AI Employee add-on: $50/month per enabled location on Growth, $97/month on Unlimited, or token-cost pay-per-use. Count your real inbound messages and calls before you switch the add-on on.
What to watch out forAI is a second bill here. The base subscription (from $97/month) does not include it, and AI Employee is priced per enabled location. The Growth track caps you at 1,000 Conversation AI responses and 100 Voice AI minutes a month — overage is billed at pay-per-use token rates, and 'Unlimited' is subject to fair use. Agent Studio is not included in any subscription: the pricing doc FAQ says verbatim 'Q: Is Agent Studio included in any plan? No.' Phone-system charges are always separate, and nobody quotes them inside the AI bundle.

Cost reality: there is no free tier — after the 14-day trial the cheapest plan is $97/month (billed $970/year), and the agency tiers run to $497/month — checked on the vendor's pricing page on 13 September 2026. AI Employee adds $50–$97/month per location on top, or metered token costs.

Check GoHighLevel →

Link goes to GoHighLevel's own pricing page — we do not have an affiliate link for this one.

The AI in these platforms has three jobs — and only one platform covers all three

Strip the marketing away and built-in platform AI does one of three jobs. Generate: draft a page, a funnel, an email, a subject line, an image. Answer: reply to an incoming text, chat message, review or phone call on your behalf. Connect: let an external AI tool like ChatGPT or Claude see your data and take actions in your account. Which job you need decides which platform is worth paying for — and these three split cleanly along that line.

Systeme.io covers generate and connect. Its in-dashboard AI Chat takes natural-language commands to build pages, generate content and manage contacts, tags, funnels, newsletters, digital products and automation rules; its MCP server hands the same surface to ChatGPT or Claude, which the vendor describes as giving 'users, partners, and developers a powerful new way to interact with systeme.io using AI tools'. Kit covers generate and connect too, aimed at email specifically: a subject line generator that returns five suggestions per broadcast, plus Kit MCP, which lets Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor analyze performance, tag subscribers, draft and schedule broadcasts, and build landing pages.

GoHighLevel is the only one covering all three jobs: generate (Funnel & Website AI, Content AI, Reviews AI), answer (Conversation AI, Voice AI), and build-your-own (Agent Studio). It also charges a per-location subscription for the privilege. No vendor here claims its AI replaces a developer or a support team in the material checked — the honest framing is that this AI shortens the distance between an idea and a live, half-finished version of it, and you do the last mile. Before you buy any of the three, write one sentence describing the job you want the AI to do.

Where the AI quietly becomes a second bill

This is the part the 'best AI tools' roundups skip. On GoHighLevel, AI is a surcharge. The $97/month Starter subscription does not include the AI suite: AI Employee is sold on three tracks — pay-per-use at token cost, Growth at $50/month per enabled location, or Unlimited at $97/month per enabled location. A two-location business wanting the full suite pays $97 plus $194 a month before a single text gets answered. On Growth, usage beyond 1,000 Conversation AI responses or 100 Voice AI minutes falls back to token-rate billing, and the Unlimited track is governed by an unpublished fair-use policy. Phone-system charges — numbers, texts, call minutes — are always separate. And Agent Studio, the custom-agent builder, is not included in any subscription at all.

Systeme.io and Kit publish no AI surcharge on top of their plans. Their gating is plan-based, not meter-based: Kit's free plan allows 5 uses of the subject line generator with unlimited access on paid plans, and Kit MCP requires any paid plan (a free-plan connection connects but is blocked by an upgrade prompt). Systeme.io states the described MCP actions are available on all plans. So you can budget a fixed number with those two. With GoHighLevel, your AI bill depends on how many customers actually write to you. The pay-per-use rates that matter, straight from the vendor's own AI pricing doc:

One more honesty note, with a date on it: the Systeme.io help article describing the in-dashboard AI Chat returned 'Not Found' when re-checked on 13 September 2026 (the feature text is confirmed only from a search-engine index of the same URL). Built-in AI features move fast and sometimes vanish. Re-check the vendor's page the week you buy, not the week you browse.

What you still have to do by hand

Every pitch promises the AI will 'handle it'. Here is the unglamorous list of work that stays yours on all three platforms — read it before you assume the tool has replaced anybody.

When built-in AI is not worth paying for

The same honesty that recommends these features rules them out in specific cases — check yours against them.

Which one fits you — three honest branches

Customers are your bottleneck — texts, web chats, DMs and missed calls pile up — and your volume fits a stated quota

→ GoHighLevel

it is the only tool here whose AI answers messages and calls — 1,000 responses + 100 voice minutes/month on AI Employee Growth at $50/month/location, stacked on the $97 base plan

Your bottleneck is email: you write and send a newsletter and you want AI for subject lines plus your own ChatGPT or Claude running the account

→ Kit (ConvertKit)

unlimited AI subject lines on paid plans (5 on Free), Kit MCP on every paid plan, and a free tier that still holds 10,000 subscribers

You want the cheapest all-in-one where AI can build pages and manage contacts, funnels and newsletters without a second AI bill

→ Systeme.io

MCP actions documented on all plans, no published AI surcharge, first paid tier $17/month — though no AI here answers your customers

How to choose

  1. Name the job first: drafting help (pages, emails, subject lines), acting help (your own ChatGPT or Claude running the account), or answering help (AI replying to customers). Only GoHighLevel has documented AI that answers customer messages or calls; only Systeme.io and Kit (ConvertKit) document an MCP connection for your own AI tools. Write your job down in one line before you open any pricing page.
  2. Do the add-on math before you compare sticker prices: GoHighLevel's AI Employee is $50–$97 per month per enabled location on top of the $97 base plan, while no AI surcharge is published for Systeme.io or Kit. If you run several locations, multiply the add-on out before you compare.
  3. Match quotas to your real volume: 1,000 Conversation AI responses a month is roughly 33 per day, and 100 Voice AI minutes is a short shift of phone calls. Tally your own inbound before you assume the Growth tier covers you.
  4. Check free-plan gating if you intend to start at $0: Kit's free plan allows 5 AI subject-line generations and a blocked MCP connection; Systeme.io's documented MCP actions are stated for all plans; GoHighLevel has no free plan. The next step is to start on the free tiers and watch the gating before you enter a card.
  5. Assume you will still edit and supervise: these features draft subject lines, pages and replies. None of the vendors' checked material documents tone guarantees or an approval queue, so your review time is part of the real cost. Before you buy, block that review time on your own calendar.

FAQ

Do I need to pay for ChatGPT or Claude separately to use these AI features?

It depends which door you use. Systeme.io's in-dashboard AI Chat and Kit's subject line generator run inside the platform itself. The MCP routes — the systeme.io MCP server and Kit MCP — deliberately connect an external AI tool like ChatGPT, Claude or Cursor to your account, and that tool carries its own pricing. GoHighLevel's AI Employee is self-contained and billed per location instead.

Is GoHighLevel's AI included in the $97/month plan?

No. The base subscription buys the platform. AI Employee is a separate add-on at $50/month (Growth) or $97/month (Unlimited) per enabled location, with a pay-per-use token track as a third option. Agent Studio, the custom-agent builder, is pay-per-use on every plan, and phone-system charges are always billed separately.

Can any of these AI tools answer my customers for me?

Only GoHighLevel documents AI for that job: Conversation AI handles SMS, live chat, Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp, and Voice AI answers calls, qualifies leads and books appointments. The Growth track allows 1,000 responses and 100 minutes a month; Unlimited drops the numbers but keeps a fair-use policy. Systeme.io and Kit document nothing that answers customer messages — and even on GoHighLevel, most owners read transcripts rather than let replies run unattended.

Does Systeme.io's free plan include the AI?

The MCP server's documented actions are stated to be 'available on all systeme.io plans', which covers the free tier, and the vendor's free AI prompt generator is a no-signup web tool. For the in-dashboard AI Chat the help article states no plan gating — and that article could not be reloaded on 13 September 2026 — so treat free-plan access to the AI Chat as unconfirmed and ask support before you rely on it.

Should I just use a standalone AI tool instead?

If the only job is writing, often yes: a general chatbot plus copy-paste covers drafting for a flat subscription, and no vendor here claims its built-in model writes better. Built-in AI earns its keep when it can act on your account — tagging subscribers, drafting and scheduling a broadcast, answering a live lead's text — which is exactly what the MCP connections and GoHighLevel's agents exist for.

Bottom line

Systeme.io and Kit (ConvertKit) tuck AI into the bill you already pay — drafting, generating, and through MCP running the account from your own ChatGPT or Claude — with no separate AI fee documented and only plan gating to read. GoHighLevel documents the one thing the other two do not: AI that answers your customers' texts, chats and calls, priced as a per-location add-on of $50–$97 a month on top of the $97 base plan, with hard quotas on the cheaper track and Agent Studio metered on every plan, always. Pick by the job, not the buzzword. Want email writing help with a 10,000-subscriber free plan? Kit. Want the cheapest AI-driven building and account actions? Systeme.io. Want real customer conversations answered automatically? GoHighLevel, with the usage math done first. Do this next: open each vendor's pricing page and confirm every quota yourself, because all of them here were read from those pages on 13 September 2026 and this part of the market changes monthly.

How we research

This guide compares the options on paper — documentation, feature lists and public pricing tiers. We have not used every tool hands-on, and we do not accept payment for placement. Full methodology.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. More on how we make money.